What is the minimum car insurance required in Missouri?
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Firm News
  4.  » What is the minimum car insurance required in Missouri?

What is the minimum car insurance required in Missouri?

| Feb 18, 2021 | Firm News

Car insurance protects you and other drivers on the road. It covers damage to vehicles, medical costs for injuries, and can even cover you in an accident with a motorist who lacks sufficient coverage.

Because auto insurance is so crucial, most states require drivers to carry a minimum of insurance. The Missouri Department of Revenue explains minimum coverage requirements in the state, so you remain in full compliance.

Minimum requirements

Liability insurance covers damage and injuries to drivers in accidents caused by other motorists. According to the law, all drivers must carry at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident to cover injuries incurred during a collision. You must also have $10,000 per accident to cover any damage to vehicles.

Additionally, drivers must carry uninsured motorist coverage, which protects you against negligent drivers without the proper insurance. Mandatory minimum amounts for uninsured coverage are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in case of injuries.

Penalties for not showing proof of insurance

There are three possible penalties for lacking proof of insurance when requested by a police officer. Drivers will receive four points on their license, and assessing eight points in an 18-month period results in revocation of driving privileges. Failing to provide proof of coverage also results in license suspension, regardless of how many points a driver has. The court can also monitor drivers to ensure they have the appropriate amount of insurance according to the law.

Being a responsible, conscientious driver requires carrying the minimum amount of insurance coverage. However, drivers should carry additional insurance in case of a particularly damaging accident.